min read

New amendments to Renters (Reform) Bill published by rebel MPs


The group of rebel Tory MPs backing moves to make significant changes to the Renters (Reform) Bill has today published its comprehensive list of amendments, along with the full names of the 49 MPs within the group (see list at end).

These include many both influential and controversial names within the party including Sir Graham Brady who is chair of the 1922 Committee, serial but senior rebeller Sir Edward Leigh, former housing minitser Robert Jenrick, former homelessness minister Kelly Tolhurst, former PM Sir Ian Duncan Smith, former minister Theresa Villiers, Lee Anderson (who made headlines after having the Tory whip taken away), former Brexit secretary Sir David Davis and leading right-winger John Redwood.

The full list of amendments, which are a mixed bag of measures, now tabled by the group include:

  • Abolishing selective licencing
  • Applying rent repayment orders to limited companies and their directors.
  • Including ‘hearsay’ evidence as admissible evidence during eviction hearings for anti-social behaviour.
  • Preventing tenants from giving notice to quit until they have been in a property for four months.
  • Force the housing secretary (ie. Michael Gove) to review how well the evictions courts are operating before bringing in a Section 21 ban.
  • Amend the Bill so that landlords can evict students from HMOs of all sizes, giving certainty to landlords over when the next group of students can or could move in.

Landlords will not find out whether these amendments, which many experts have said would make the Bill workable, will get the Government support when they come up for debate during the Bill’s second reading, most likely next month.

The ‘rebel 49’

Bob Blackman
Mr Marcus Fysh
Sir Desmond Swayne
Nick Fletcher
Anne Marie Morris
Andrew Lewer
Kelly Tolhurst
Kevin Foster
Craig Whittaker
Sir Iain Duncan Smith
Andrew Bridgen
Sir Christopher Chope
Sir Gary Streeter
Sir Jacob Rees-Mogg
Theresa Villiers
Royston Smith
Sir Robert Syms
Philip Davies
Mrs Sheryll Murray
Adam Holloway
Marco Longhi
Simon Jupp
Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown
Craig Mackinlay
Mr David Jones
Sir Graham Brady
Sir Bill Wiggin
Jonathan Gullis
Greg Smith
Sir Edward Leigh
Sally-Ann Hart
Lee Anderson
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger
Robert Jenrick
Angela Richardson
Selaine Saxby
Steve Double
John Stevenson
George Freeman
Alicia Kearns
Mr William Wragg
Sir David Davis
Sir Charles Walker
Mark Menzies
Martin Vickers
Chris Green
Miriam Cates
Karl McCartney
Antony Higginbotham
Mr Philip Hollobon


No items found.