min read

HMO group wins gong for changing official tax policy

hmo reform

HMO Reform Group won a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s annual HMO Awards for its campaigning work to change the law on council tax being imposed on individual HMO rooms.

Daryn Brewer, Wendy Whittaker-Large and Matt Baker (main image) took home the trophy for helping to win the fight which will see the government axe multiple council tax bills on HMO properties.

Hosted by property management software startup COHO, the ceremony at Stowe School brought together nearly 400 industry professionals to celebrate achievements and honour innovators and leaders within the sector. The event recognised outstanding contributions from individuals and businesses who manage and develop HMO properties and included TED-style talks by industry leaders as well as panel discussions on the future of HMOs.


A panel of 17 industry judges chose winners in 18 categories including Best Agency: Babouris – Alex Babouris, for providing an exceptional service for landlords and tenants, while focusing on compliance, training and development and business growth and Best HMO Investor: Luxome – Punk Takiar, for prudent risk management while delivering above-market returns.

The awards are a testament to the hard work and dedication of professionals in the HMO sector, says COHO’s CEO, Vann Vogstad. “It’s such a privilege for my team and I to host this event, aimed at supporting and recognising the innovation and excellence of everyone operating in this industry. The standard of entries was exceptionally high this year, reflecting the sector’s rapid evolution,” he adds.

Gary Barker (pictured) COO/CTO at the TM Group and one of the judges, adds: “There are so many incredible people investing their all in this industry, drowning out the noise of the few bad apples damaging the industry reputation. At this rate we will soon see a monumental shift in how people view the HMO community.”

For the full list of winners, visit the awards website.