Please Note: This Article is 5 years old. This increases the likelihood that some or all of it's content is now outdated.

Breaking News:

Mayor Sadiq Khan has this week launched his promised Rogue Landlord and Agent Checker. This is a public access database to be compiled by the London boroughs with the aim of naming and shaming exploitative landlords and agents, and those who put tenants’ lives at risk.

The new facility will consist of a public record of convicted landlords and agents, those fined by London Boroughs or the London Fire Brigade, those issued a prohibition notice or expelled from letting agent redress schemes.

A private section of the database is for London local authorities and the London Fire Brigade to record and exchange details about landlords’ and letting agents’ behaviour and offences, and the website will also act as a reporting facility so that rogue activity can be reported by tenants, landlords, agents or the general public.

Tenants will be in a position to check-out landlords and agents before they have any dealings with them, and the private database will help councils to share information and improve enforcement across the London boroughs.

Mayor Sadiq Khan says:

“Many landlords and agents across London offer a great service – but sadly some don’t.

“My new database is about empowering Londoners to make informed choices about where they rent, and sending rogue operators a clear message: you have nowhere to hide.”

To comply with the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 regulations the public database records will be available to the public in most cases for only 12 months after a prosecution or enforcement.

The landlord’s name, the street name and first four post code digits of the landlord’s home address, the offence committed and date of prosecution or enforcement, the rental address and the borough taking action will be available for all to see.

Records will remain on the private database for up to 10 years.

The authorities concerned will be responsible for the information’s accuracy and there will be an appeals process to have wrong information removed.

The Greater London Authority has cooperated with six London boroughs: Brent, Camden, Kingston, Newham, Southwark and Sutton, Greenwich, Islington, Waltham Forest and Westminster, the London Fire Brigade, and the three letting agent redress schemes – the Property Redress Scheme, Ombudsman Services, and The Property Ombudsman).

Rogue Landlord and Agent Checker

Comprehensive List

Please Note: This Article is 5 years old. This increases the likelihood that some or all of it's content is now outdated.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here