LandlordZONE

Oct, 2014

Friday

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How much notice do I have to give?

Hi I am new to this here goes.

I am a private tenant, I signed a 6 month contract, I have been in the property 9 months and never signed a new contract.
    I use a letting agent, I have given 1 month notice in writing recorded delivery.

I have received a copy of my first contract with the words highlighted:-

If the Tenant intends to vacate at the end of the fixed term, or at any later date, he agrees to give the Landlord at least two month's prior Notice in writing.
    While the tenancy is periodic the two month's written Notice must expre the day before the Rent Due Date.

Where do I stand? I have tried to research this, but I am getting confused

Thanks in advance

All the details will be in your original AST, do you have it to hand?

Yes, they sent me a copy with those words highlighted, my question is due to conflicting information on the web. I read that this clause is invalid as I am not in the original contract anymore, so a periodic tenancy is in place, and statutory law overrides contract law.... confused

I'm confused aswell and I asked this question from the other side of the fence.

http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums...odic-Tenancies

My AST also states....... If on the coming to the end of the fixed term agreed above, the Landlord does not seek possession and the Tenant remains in the property, they will be considered, by virtue of section 5 of the Housing Act 1988, to have a statutory periodic tenancy. This will continue till ended by either party.

Confuses me further lol

How can I be bound by a contract that ended???

I need help for sure

The more I read, the more confused I become

They are contradicting themselves.
    Saying that, your notice may be invalid anyway, as you say you have given a "1 month notice".

What date did your tenancy start, and what date does your notice expire.