LandlordZONE

Nov, 2014

Saturday

Default New Freeholder Advice Needed!!!!!

Hi i'm a newbie in need of advice about Freehold Law, we have purchased the freehold to a block of 4 flats we own 2 that are rented out the other's are long leasehold,lease's were drawn up in 1975 and have ground rent paid twice yearly at £15 per year the leases state all leaseholds are jointly liable for repair's/insurance, My queries are
    1) at present there is no set service charge only an annual bill for repair's/insurance our leaseholders seem to think they can pay this as and when they feel like it which alway's leaves us chasing them and either threats of going to their mortgage provider or getting their building society's to pay creating extra stress for us, am i legally allowed to change the way the monies are demanded i.e. say fine you can't pay an annual account so i will implement a proper fixed monthly service charge demand as payment towards the upkeep of the property
    2) how is ground rent calculated and as its set in the lease can it be increased as £15 seems extreamly low
    3)How do you calculate the annual management charge (our time) for organising all the repairs/insurance numerous visits to the site organising quotes & preparing the annual summary bill's etc at present we have charged a nominal fee of £40 for the year but i feel they are not playing ball so why should i waste my time helping them!!
    4) Finally can anyone recommend any legal book's that i can refer to in order to gain knowledge of Freehold Law
    Many Thanks for your time sorry if i sound naive but basically we purchased the freehold due to no end of ficticious demands from the previous FH's .........Gary