LandlordZONE

Oct, 2014

Saturday

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Changing letting agent

Hello all,
    I have been letting a property since 2004 through the same agents on a managed propery basis. So far, they have found me 2 tenants with only a few days break. However, over the years, I have become increasingly dissatisfied with the service I am receiving and the extra charges that have been creeping in. I should like to know how I go about changing to a new agent.
    Very many thanks for any assistance.

Chris

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisstc View Post
    Hello all. I should like to know how I go about
    changing to a new agent.Chris
    There are 3 ways to do this.
    1) If you are not satisfied with their work, but has to be verified reasons of
    mismanagement , failure to reply to letters, failure to do what is in their
    contract, you can inform them that as they work for you, and represent you,
    they are not representing you in a professional way, therefore you will end
    your contract with them in 30 days, as you can no longer employ someone
    who is not profesional and incompetant in some areas.

2) Sometimes there is a part that says any party can terminate the contract with
    3 months notice ( rare on a letting agents contract ) so use that as your reason,
    but also stating their failings.

3) If they have one of those contracts that state you MUST pay them for
    the next 50 years if you have the same tenant in that they found for you,
    living there for the next 50 years,
    Tell them you are no longer renting out your flat and no longer require
    their services. But you will have to issue a new A.S.T. in your name or in
    the new letting agents name. Tell the tenant what you are doing, ask him/her
    to now pay the rent to you until new letting agent found, etc, etc.
    Maybe you can get out if it with number 3.

Some people will state number 3 is immoral / illegal, but the letting agents