LandlordZONE

Jul, 2014

Monday

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Change of Use from residential to commercial

Hello

I am new to this form. I currently have a residential property empty that is being advertised for rental purposes. I have been approached by a company that runs non-residential care homes for the mentally ill, who are interested in setting up a day centre at my property. Can anyone please advise on the following:

1). Do I as the landlord need to apply for and obtain a change of use classification approval under current planning regulations with the local authority, or is it the tenant (i.e. the company) who should apply for this?

2). According to my local authority it takes around 8 weeks for the application to be considered from the time of submission. Should I negotiate with the company that they should sign the agreement prior to obtaining change of use, bearing in mind I am likely to suffer 2 months of void period?

3). Is there anything that I should be concerned about in letting a residential property to a commercial enterprise, not having entered into such agreements in the past....I have always let on a residential basis.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards

Asgar

Hello

I am new to this form. I currently have a residential property empty that is being advertised for rental purposes. I have been approached by a company that runs non-residential care homes for the mentally ill, who are interested in setting up a day centre at my property. Can anyone please advise on the following:

1). Do I as the landlord need to apply for and obtain a change of use classification approval under current planning regulations with the local authority, or is it the tenant (i.e. the company) who should apply for this?

Prospective Tenant can do this, and are probably best suited anyway as presumably have experience.