LandlordZONE

Sep, 2014

Friday

Default "Possessory title": what does it really mean?

Hello all at LLZ!

Please consider me a bit of a newbie/numptie..... So excuse the silly question.

I've been using a bit of land for 12 years, and have been very thorough indeed trying to find the owners. I know who owns all the boundaries, and due to its layout, no one can get to it bar me.

So - I applied for adverse possession pretty much on my own. I have been awarded "Title Possessory" of the land, with me as the named proprietor.

what does this means in laymans terms?

- Do I "own" the land?
    - Is it safely mine or can someone still come along and claim it?
    - Can I build on it (STPP)?
    - Can I sell it?
    - do I need to sort out indemnity insurance incase someone comes along later?

also, as its next to my house and really part of my garden, if I sell it (if I can!) is it subject to CGT or as its my main home is it exempt?

Thank you very much for any advice!

Possessory Tile (based on adverse possession) is a 'holding' title. No-one can register deeds-based ownership unless the Chief Land Registrar first serves Notice on you* and considers that the possessory title was wrongly awarded. Yes, you* can build on it or sell it; but, in either case, an Indemnity Insurance policy is essential.

If no deeds-based ownership challenge or registration is lodged within twelve years from the date of first registration, you* can apply for the title to be upgraded (fee currently £40) to absolute; and thereafter no-one can disturb it at all.

* -i.e. you or your then successor
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.