LandlordZONE

Oct, 2014

Sunday

Default How to go about getting DSS to help pay rent

Hello. I have been given a "dead line" to leave the house where I am staying at the moment which is 1 month. I have deposit money and something like a bedsit would be fine until I find my feet. I was just wondering how much the DSS would roughly pay of that rent and how to go about it all. What forms to get, where to get them, any special conditions ect. I am very new to all this and really dont have a clue where to start. If the rent for the bedsit was £100 a month im guessing they may pay £60 or £70 a of that? I also dont have a job at the moment so I can't just move out otherwise I would. Any suggestions would be very kind. Thanks alot.

My local council is barking and dagenham but dont know where to go to enquire about this.

This question would be better answered IMO on money saving expert website - give it a go.

The following link is for the Local Housing Allowance paid by your council. Just select Barking and Dagenham.

https://lha-direct.therentservice.go...?SearchType=LA

I believe that you have to claim Housing Benefit from your local council office. I would search on their website.

Thanks very much for your reply. How long "generally" does it take for this process to happen. From getting the correct forms to moving into a place. Any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by uperkurk View Post
    How long "generally" does it take for this process to happen. From getting the correct forms to moving into a place. Any ideas?
    Sorry, I've no idea about that. I'm a landlord.

Exactly why I said money saving expert mostly tenants there

Thanks for your reply. I am going to sort it all out on monday. If I didnt have deposit money I would be really stuck lol. Thanks again for your time to reply.

Depending on your circumstances, you can apply to DSS or the local authority.