PDA

View Full Version : New BTL landlord starting let in 10 days- please help

BBB
20-02-2008, 13:42 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie here and have a few questions I hope someone can answer in simple terms...

I have a BTL mortgage (interest only) on a flat I intend to let. (I also have buildings insurance which has liability insurance built in on this property).

I live with my partner in the UK (mortgage free) which is why my flat is available for rent.

I am also in full time employment and earn just under 34k pa. Will declaring the rental income (£585pcm) push me into a higher tax bracket? (Will this mean I even make a loss?!)

I've just placed an ad in the paper published tomorrow.

I'm not with a letting agent as I didn't want to eat into any profit. (was this wise?)

I've heard I might need to declare the rental income to HMRC and hold a deposit with DPS. How do I go about this? (in easy steps please - I haven't a clue what the HMRC website is talking about!!).

I'm also reluctant to give any of my details to HMRC as I don't trust them to keep them safe after their recent loss of data. And why should I put a deposit with DPS instead of keeping it in an ISA or something? Do I legally have to do these things? What are the consequences otherwise?

How can I get things sorted out by 1st March with very limited time to meet people or fill in forms etc?

Would i be better off leaving it empty?!

Grange
20-02-2008, 13:53 PM
I've heard I might need to declare the rental income to HMRC and hold a deposit with DPS. How do I go about this?

You are kidding us, aren't you?

Ring your tax office (number on your payslip) and tell them that you will have rental income this year. They will send you a tax return. Which you will do online, but that is another matter.