PDA

View Full Version : Allowing former tenant into property to collect possessions

Grange
20-02-2008, 08:19 AM
L has obtained a possession order as RA77 T has abandoned property. Vacant possession has therefore been obtained - without it court would not have granted possession order. A catch 22 situation.

T does however have limited number of possessions remaining in property - T was not expecting to be evicted.

Following expiry of possession order L is writing to T asking T to remove possessions. Would it be a very bad idea to allow T back into property? Should possessions be moved outside property by L?

Bel
20-02-2008, 08:51 AM
I'm not an expert, but it probably depends on the disposition of the tenant. If it were me i would probably not want tenant inside but as long as eviction is legal it shouldn't be a problem.

Your evicition case sounds interesting though, wouldn't mind more info on how that came about.

Grange
20-02-2008, 10:15 AM
I'll post the full eviction story in due course...

T is unlikely to be friendly unless has had major makeover. I have visions of T entering property and refusing to leave - at which point we would presumably have to go back to court to get baliffs (despite already having achieved vacant possession, but subsequently lost it). T never intended to give up RA77 tenancy.

jeffrey
20-02-2008, 10:18 AM
Following expiry of possession order L is writing to T asking T to remove possessions. Would it be a very bad idea to allow T back into property? Should possessions be moved outside property by L?
Better for L to move T's possessions to another nearby location and tell T where/when they can be collected.

Grange
20-02-2008, 10:25 AM
Thanks, Jeffrey.

Esio Trot
20-02-2008, 13:35 PM
Alternatively, state that possessions may only be removed by a bone-fide removal contractor.

Ericthelobster
20-02-2008, 14:18 PM