PDA

View Full Version : Sole tenant wants his girlfriend to cohabit/occupy

Alrobbo
09-02-2008, 17:08 PM
Hope someone can advise me - my new tennant wants to move his girlfriend in at the end of this month - is it advisable to make the tenancy into a joint agreement or leave it as it is - an individual tenancy. As I am relatively new to this any help would be gratefully accepted - thanks

Ericthelobster
09-02-2008, 17:52 PM
Hope someone can advise me - my new tennant wants to move his girlfriend in at the end of this month - is it advisable to make the tenancy into a joint agreement or leave it as it is - an individual tenancy.This has come up quite a few times in this forum and I think the general advice is to do nothing; the visitor is the guest of the tenant, who is the person you have the relationship with. She would have no legal right of residence if by any chance your tenant were to quit the property leaving her behind.

One issue is that if you do want to set up a new tenancy regardless, then what happens if the girl doesn't meet your criteria for becoming a tenant - eg, if she's unemployed and has 17 CCJs? Are you then going to tell your existing tenant she can't move in? And if so, what will you do when he ignores you and goes ahead? Or if you decide to compromise your standards and accept her as a tenant regardless, then if they then did split up and she stayed behind, you'd have a potential nightmare sole tenant on your hands, ie with rights.

fallenlord
09-02-2008, 19:47 PM
Hope someone can advise me - my new tennant wants to move his girlfriend in at the end of this month - is it advisable to make the tenancy into a joint agreement or leave it as it is - an individual tenancy. As I am relatively new to this any help would be gratefully accepted - thanks

For balance, I would disagree with Ericthelobster. The central point is determining whether she is a guest or permanent resident.