PDA

View Full Version : Protected tenant

Christopher
05-02-2008, 20:20 PM
Hi all

I have a query that I can't find any advice for, thought it would be worth throwing it out to the experts in the field (I'm a newbie landlord). I've just purchased a house with a stipulation to observe a protected tenancy, who will be staying in the property. He moved in pre-1988 under an assured tenancy (not AST). He doesn't have a copy of the tenancy for me to take over, so what tenancy agreement should I put in place - will an AST do, or should I attempt to source an assured tenancy agreement (if they even exist any more)?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Chris

johnboy
05-02-2008, 22:09 PM
I'm no expert on early tenanaies but i would try and get them to sign another one. AST this time, at least you would know where you stand with it.

justaboutsane
06-02-2008, 06:13 AM
The way I understand it is that you cannot force someone to sign a new agreement, especially if they are an Assured Tenant. Anyone who has an assured tenancy should take legal advise before signing an AST as you will lose many rights.

OP you need to issue the tenant with a section 20 I think it is which tells the tenant who the new Landlord is and where to make payments to. Issuing an AST will reduce their rights and COULD be problems if you try to evict and the tenant mentions when they moved in.

Jeffrey is a better source of help and he will be around later! .. or you could do a search and hopefully you will come up with more info. xx good luck

attilathelandlord
06-02-2008, 06:55 AM
You don't have to sign a new agreement, just let the old one stand.

You will not be able to give them an AST. If you attempt to do that you will have to prove they had proper legal counselling from a qualified solicitor outlining exactly what they are losing. And let's face it, what solicitor would allow their client to do such a thing.