PDA

View Full Version : Rent arrears and tenant wants to be evicted

peaches
01-02-2008, 03:38 AM
Please give me your advice on what I should do about my tenant who owes two and a half months rent.
I'm new to all this but I know from reading this site I have to serve a section 21 notice which means I require possession after 13th April.
He says he will pay his arrears off monthly along with the usual rent but so far has made just one payment.
He feigns ignorance when I tell him there is no rent yet again and blames it on his wife who is in charge of the banking.
He wants a council house and therefore needs me to evict him and is likely to be advised to stay in my property until I get a possession order.
My questions are: how do I go about getting him out AND getting my money?
If it takes months to get him out he might well have time to pay off the arrears before moving on but how do I make it official and not leave it to trust (as he insists) that he won't do a runner owing me money?

Ericthelobster
01-02-2008, 08:10 AM
You could serve a Section 8 notice to reposess the property, which allows you to claim for money as well (unlike the Section 21). Disadvantage is that if he pays you enough to take the arrears below 2 months, (in a nutshell) the reposession isn't guaranteed. So however you choose to proceed, serve the S21 as well in parallel, either to rely on it or as a backup.

Alternatively, if you don't do S8, you can initiate a Small Claim for the money he owes, separately from the S21. That doesn't need to be for a fixed sum, as obviously the arrears are increasing day by day.

Beeber
01-02-2008, 19:09 PM
Tell him that the council will consider that he has made himself intentionally homeless, don't have any obligation to offer him social housing and that you intend to notify them of the arrears and the fact that you gave him a number of occasions to sort it out.