PDA

View Full Version : Tenant in arrears, damaged property, left unpaid bills

AuntyEm74
24-01-2008, 15:19 PM
Hello
I was wondering if anyone can give me their views on this. My tenant (first one, I am new to this) moved in in December 2006 and I wrote to the electricity co, council tax and water co putting the bills in her name. I forwarded my post from the property (i had previously lived there) to my new property and have had no bills for the rental property since.

My tenant has been continually late with the rent and obviously couldn't afford the flat. She failed to pay in Jan and text me last week saying she would move out this week and I could keep her deposit as this month's rent. Despite this meaning I didn't get a month's notice and would not have the deposit to cover any damage I agreed as I wanted her out.

We agreed I would go round there last night to check the property but when I arrived she had already gone and text me to say she had to get her lift to where she was staying.
I called the electricity company today to find she is £414 in arrears as all her payments bounced - and she owes £1200 in council tax. I guess she owes the water company too.

They both said they would pursue her for the debt and I am not liable but I am still a little concerned. What if she denies ever living there? Although she did have direct debits for both - but like the rent, they failed due to lack of funds most of the time. The electricity company want to see a copy of the AST as proof she has moved out (isn't it just proof she moved in?).