PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Safety Check - Criteria?

Boab64
11-08-2005, 09:22 AM
Hi, I am a new landlord renting an ex council property for the first time in Scotland and would be very grateful for some technical advice if you can spare the time.

I have carried out a Landlords electrical safety check on all the electrical appliances in the flat and also the whole flats electrical circuitry has been checked. This check was carried out by an NICEC electrician.

My problem is that during the check it was discovered that there was no earth supplied to the flat! The power supply is provided to the houses in the street by means of overhead cables rather than underground cables. In the place of the normal earth, we have an RCD trip switch which (I understand, as a complete novice) trips in the event of an overload. He then gave me a report that said the flat had failed the safety check due to the earth problem.

The electrician said that in order to provide me with a report saying that the flat was electrically safe I would need to have an earth supplied to the flat (at no doubt great expense). I called in Scottish power (electricity provider) and they said that the supply was perfectly safe with the rcd switch but if I needed the earth installed anyway there was a long lead time.

AT LONG LAST - MY QUESTION : Is the NICEC electrician correct in that even with the RCD switch installed, legally the flat is still unsafe (the previous owners have lived in the flat for five years with no problems)? Are there any other standards other than those used by NICEC which accept the use of an RCD as normal practice? I don't want to endanger anyone but feel that this might be a money making exercise on the part of the electrician. Any thoughts would be very welcome. Thanks.

dazalock
11-08-2005, 09:34 AM