PDA

View Full Version : Should I return the Deposit?

einheriar
01-06-2007, 22:18 PM
Hi there.
I am new to this, so forgive me if my question has an obvious answer!
I have rented one bedroom in my house for the last 3 years and have always returned the tenants full deposit when they left. I want to ask if I have a right to withhold some or all of my last tenants deposit due to a huge problem with mould covering 2 walls. There have been no problems with mould in the room in the previous 5 years I have lived here. I have been advised that it must have been caused by condensation, with the window probably never being opened while he lived there.
Surely he has a responsibilty to inform me if anything like this is happening, before the damage is extensive?
The Lodger Agreement I had with him was for 'a room in a furnished house or flat with a resident owner'.
I would really appreciate it if someone could advise me on this matter.
Regards
Einheriar

LondonFreeholder
02-06-2007, 05:40 AM
It really depends on the agreement you would have to send me a private message with your email adress and I would have a look at it for you.

That would be the legal route but I am not a lawyer but have been in the business for 20 odd years, If it comes to a leal situation forget about it, Mould in your own house,even due to condensation is something that if you held the deposit back and it came to court you would loose the case in 5 seconds flat.

What I would do is have a frendly chat with the lodger, tell him whats on your mind and offer to spilt the deposit 50-50. if they cick up a fuss then give them the full deposit back and se-la ve.

I know its frustrating but investing in property or making money out of property has its pitfalls as well as sweet rewards, some times its easier to just smile and write things off.

Personally if they

tobylaura@btinternet.com
05-06-2007, 20:43 PM
Hi,