PDA

View Full Version : Notice period in order to put property on market??

jerushjo
26-05-2007, 23:26 PM
Hi folks!

Newbie here.... :o

I am looking to put my tenanted property on the market. The estate agent tells me that I HAVE to give the tenants notice on the property before I am allowed to market.

The 2 month notice therefore is required BEFORE Tuesday, 29th May (as end tenancy 6 month contract 29th July.)

Is this correct, that I HAVE to serve notice BEFORE I can market the property?

I bought the property with sitting tenants, so surely that cannot be the case???

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

Joanna

PropertyLog
27-05-2007, 00:09 AM
Your assumption is correct. You are perfectly entitled to sell the property with the tenants in situ if you so wish.

Ruth Less
27-05-2007, 01:17 AM
Your assumption is correct. You are perfectly entitled to sell the property with the tenants in situ if you so wish.

I don't think it's that straightforward if jerushjo wishes the viewers to view inside. As a tenant I would only allow viewings in the last month of the tenancy as that's what the AST says. In order to determine when the last month is notice would have to be given. Of course it's worth asking the tenants what viewings if any they will allow to see of something can be worked out. Bear in mind that if the tenant has to move then they will have less time for tidying up and the hassle of viewings so jerushjo would need to arrange a compromise.

pippay
27-05-2007, 08:02 AM
Yes but isn't it also the case that tenants don't have to allow anyone in the property if they don't want to regardless of what the AST says? ? If so, then it's back to square one.

It may well be that if the tenant knows it's just a change of ownership and his tenancy is still secure (as much as it can be with an AST) he may be more willing to show prospective purchasers round at agreed times, if only to get a measure of any prospective new landlord ..