PDA

View Full Version : Landlords: what worries you about tenants?

jandat44
22-05-2007, 15:22 PM
Wishing to make absolutely sure my new lettings agency gets it right first time, I'd be grateful if you would let me know what are your top 3 worries about being a Landlord?

Many thanks for your time - I appreciate it.

daisy
22-05-2007, 16:33 PM
Hi Jandat44

I am fairly new to being a landlord - coming up for a year, I manage my property myself, so maybe not the answers you need - my main worries -

1) Will the tenants pay the rent or leave me unable to pay mortgage (I have taken out rent insurance)

2) If tenants don't pay rent how will I take care of this (this website is excellent, it has really helped me pick up on the law)

These were my main worries on becoming a landlord but over the year I have added some!

My current situation means I am going to look thoroughly at what landlord insurance offers when a disaster renders your property uninhabitable - I have had a stressful time of stressed tenants needing somewhere else to live in an emergency.

My other advice is check out the law and make sure your tenancy agreement would stand up in court. And make sure that the agency do a thorogh inventory - there is a good one on this site which you can download - get them to include photos, as the new deposit scheme requires a really detailed inventory if there are any disputes.

Good luck!

PaulF
22-05-2007, 16:44 PM
I'm an ICE for Tenancy Dispute Service Ltd. Believe me what you also need to do is get an extremely detailed and well written inventory. otherwise the alndlord will fin in the event of a dispute the tenant will have it all returned.

Your tenancy agreements need to be devoid of any legal jargon, written in plain English and free of onerous terms, something that "off the shelf" agreements often fail to do.

Oh! And don't forget to register with one of the three schemes to protect your tenant's deposits.