PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to tell my mortgage lender

robm
17-06-2005, 22:14 PM
I've been working abroad for a couple of years now and renting the flat I lived in for five years out. Would anyone be able to advise me on the following:

1. I haven't told my lender that my property is being rented out and I've never missed a payment. If I do so now will my mortage rate go up or are there any other penalties?
2. Will they backdate any of these to when I left the UK.

Any advice appreciated. I'm asking because I'd like to remortgage my property to try and finance buying somewhere abroad and assume I'll have to tell them then.

Cheers.

davidjohnbutton
17-06-2005, 22:41 PM
Your mortgagees will do one or more of the following things:-

1. Call in your mortgage (i.e. demand immediate repayment of the whole sum borrowed with accumulated interest)

2. Allow you to continue letting the property, but demand an increase in interest which they may impose either a) from the date you tell them, or b) backdated to the date you commenced letting.

3. Demand that you terminate the letting and completely disallow you letting in the future.

They can do any of these things when and if they find out without you telling them.

You don't say which lender is involved - different lenders have different policies and one "trick" might be to phone your lender up anonymously with a "hypothetical" question to see what guidance they would offer or what tack they would take a) if you told them, and b) if you did not tell them and they found out.

Ericthelobster
18-06-2005, 08:19 AM
Yes you definitely need to tell them; you're on very thin ice at the moment. Have you taken the same approach with your buildings insurers by the way? If so they would certainly decline any claim you made on the policy.