PDA

View Full Version : Renting property has been bought by new owner

rdliser
05-03-2007, 10:50 AM
I've been renting a property since July 2006, I signed up with a 6 month contract which ran out at the end of December and as I'm currently in the process of purchasing a property, so I agreed to go to a rolling contract as I didn't want to commit to another six months.

Things were going ok until I get a phone call out of the blue on friday 2nd saying that their the new owner of the property and the house exchange was completed on 2nd March.

The new landlord is happy for us to stay and also agreed to give us a rolling contract as we're only going to be there 1-3 months (depending on our house completing). She wants us to sign a new contract and is requesting deposit money and full months rent. However my old landlord has the rent money already paid up to the end March and he also holds my deposit.

I've requested the money back from the old landlord, but I'm in a bit of a squeeze, £1750 is held by my old landlord and the new one is requesting £1800. I've advised I cannot pay the new landlord in full until I get the money from the previous, but I'm afraid I'll have trouble getting them funds back from the old landlord as he wasn't ever reliable before. Also he must be fairly dodgy, as he chased me up on paying rent on 27th feb and he knew he'd be completing on 2nd march.

Legally should I be responsible for claiming back money and passing on or should it be between the old and new landlord to resolve, as I've paid my rent and deposit up to the end of March.

jeffrey
05-03-2007, 10:52 AM
First, do NOT rely on telephone call.
Demand old L's WRITTEN authority PLUS statutory Notices (under s.3 of LTA 1985 and s.48 of LTA 1987). Only then should you treat supposed new L as entitled.

rdliser
05-03-2007, 11:05 AM