PDA

View Full Version : Early Termination of Contract

16-06-2005, 19:15 PM
Hi,

I'm new to this game and struggling to understand where I stand - any advice therefore gratefully received.

I have a property which I wanted to let to students so I advertised it with a Letting Agent. The agent didn't seem to be doing anything and whilst there adding some finishing touches I was stopped and asked if it was available for rent next academic year - result I thought - property let and no agents fees - how easy can this land-lording lark be!

I duly downloaded an AST from the RLA site as well as a freebie Guarantor Letter.

3 x students signed the contract running from 01/07/05 to 30/06/06. The rent is written as a weekly rent per person (50% over the summer months and full thereafter). I was led to believe this was the right thing to do as all of the parents had signed the Guarantor forms - no need therefore for jointly and severably liable .

It now turns out that one of the lads has had some family problems and will be commuting next year as he needs to be at home a lot. Therefore he wants out - what do I do?

Am I correct in thinking that the Guarantor is liable for the rent so long as I am marketing the property as best I can? If so is this for the full 12 months or can the tenant close early?

I'm not looking to rip anybody off - any advice will help the tenant as much as me - if I end up ut of pocket then we'll call it another expensive lesson learned!

Advice in simple terms especially welcome.

Cheers....Top

PaulF
16-06-2005, 19:54 PM
Look! I'm sorry but this sort of question is asked so often you'll have to use the search facility.

You've already started to get things wrong unfortunately and there are so many ifs buts whys and wherefores to have time to put you right. :confused:

zoe
16-06-2005, 20:06 PM
Paul

that was rude !!! Name calling and then no helpfull reply.

ZOe

16-06-2005, 21:25 PM
Paul,