PDA

View Full Version : Whose responsibility is it to clear gutters?

MrsB
26-01-2013, 19:36 PM
Hi, I'm new to being a landlord and am trying to be a good one and ensure the property is well maintained. I do however seem to have some tenants with what I would consider unreasonable demands.

The property is a 3 bed bungalow which was my previous home and had been decorated to a very high standard. We are on our second lot of tenants and they seem to have many problems which we have always acted on quickly and got repaired as soon as possible. The most recent issue is slugs in the house.We provided slug pellets, traps, copper tape and all manner of other slug repelling/killing methods and still the slugs persist. To listen to our tenants they are being over run. I asked a builder to go round and assess for damp issues and to see what we could do to prevent slugs gaining entry. He made various suggestions and we asked him to complete all works recommended. However the feedback we got from him was most concerning. He stated that the tenants are causing a lot of issues themselves with having dirty floors - food waste lying around. Not ventilating the property properly and causing damp in the main bedroom. The solid oak floor is stained black and rotting due to condensation. Also the gutters and hoppers are full of leaves and over flowing onto the walls causing a damp issue in the house which is smelling musty. These tenants seem to be good at complaining and I would like to understand if the gutters being blocked with leaves is something we as landlords need to clear or is it reasonable to expect them to? I might add all the drains were blocked with leaves and food waste and no maintenance has been done in the garden which has also attracted the slugs.

Any help and advice very gratefully received.

jta
26-01-2013, 20:09 PM