PDA

View Full Version : council tax query?

rharn15
27-02-2007, 12:16 PM
Hi i am hoping someone on here can help with a huge problem that does not seem to be getting sorted.
i live in a rented house with 2 other students (i am a student) and my partner who is not a student, we rent through a student letting office. when we looked into renting this house the office told my partner he would have to sort out the council tax himself - this is fie and fair. however it came to light a few months ago that he was paying council ta for 75% of the house and not the 25% that he in theory is renting - the house is multiple occupancy locks on bedroom doors etc.
we went to the ocuncil and they are saying that my partner shouldnt be paying any of the tax, it is down to the landlord.
does anybody know what should really be happening, it seems nobody here really knows? thanks in advance, rharn15.

Paragon
27-02-2007, 12:28 PM
Now that is a scary question!!

Normally, tenants are responsible for their own council tax. How this applies to a students or anyone else in a registerable HMO is a very interesting question and I await the resident gurus' response to this.

rharn15
27-02-2007, 12:30 PM
me too!
it is scary, and to be honest im not sure the council here or leting office etc come accross this type of situation often.
our main problem is that we dont see why mypartner should be paying tax on practically the whole house!

Paragon
27-02-2007, 13:05 PM
Still thinking about this one.

So, as far as the student letting office is concerned, they have arranged the letting for three students. You have included your partner, who is not a student. The student letting office has said basically that is not our concern re: the council tax, as students don't pay council tax. Fare enough.