PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed re:- letting spare rooms

chimpanzes
22-02-2007, 20:41 PM
Hi, to cut a long story short I have just purchased a large 8 bedroomed house and would like to rent out some of the rooms monday to friday. My questions are what type of insurance do I need? Who do I need to tell? Are the people renting the rooms classed as lodgers? how many people can you take in? - as you have probably guessed I have never done this sort of thing before so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Sophie

alisonf
22-02-2007, 20:53 PM
I am not the best person to answer answer but I saw this previously and it may help.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/MoneyTaxAndBenefits/Taxes/TaxOnPropertyAndRentalIncome/DG_4017804

Alison

MrShed
22-02-2007, 20:54 PM
Can you embellish a bit? What exactly are you planning to do? Just seems bizarre that you would only rent out monday to friday....

chimpanzes
22-02-2007, 21:07 PM
basically i would just be renting out to people who work away from home monday to friday and return to their own property at weekends. I have seen a website called Mondaytofriday.com

MrShed
22-02-2007, 21:17 PM
Ah ok that would make sense :)

I think the main thing you would probably need to be aware of is I THINK the property would become HMO licensable if you took in more than 2 lodgers. Do a search for HMO to find out more!

chimpanzes
23-02-2007, 08:33 AM
Thanks for your help, I will look into this.

Poppy
23-02-2007, 10:11 AM
Monday to Friday? Don't be bamboozled by catchphrases.

You need to realise that because their possessions remain in your property they actually have 24/7 occupation, which in my book means they pay a full week's rent. Unless you run a bed and breakfast guest house and they pack up completely each weekend…

You have not specified whether you will reside at this property. Is it your actual home?

chimpanzes
23-02-2007, 10:20 AM
yes it will be our home and yes they would take their stuff with them at weekends.

Poppy