PDA

View Full Version : Tenant Sub-letting

HappyFriendlyLL
16-02-2007, 22:05 PM
Hi,

I am new to renting out property and recently rented a 2 bedroom flat to a single person. They told me that they would be living there alone. I found this a little hard to believe so tried to make it clear that if anyone else will be living there permanently then their name needs to be on the contract in the form of a joint tenancy.

Soon after the tenant had moved in I came to look at a problem in the flat and found another person in the flat who when asked confirmed that they were also staying there. Minutes later another person came through the front door. When I asked the sole tenant about this I was told that they were friends and wouldn't be staying long. I then made it clear that the agreement that had been signed states that a guest is not allowed to stay any longer than 3 weeks at any one time.

3 weeks have gone by and they are still staying in the flat. Having spoken to one of the new people it seems that they are planning to stay for the duration of the contract (6 months).

What is my best course of action, turn a blind eye to it as long as rent is paid on time and no problems are caused or insist that the other people living there have their names added to the contract? Also do I have grounds to chrage extra rent or increase the deposit?

Would be very grateful of any advice on the issue,

Thanks

MrShed
16-02-2007, 22:20 PM
- You have no ground to charge extra rent or increase the deposit.

- There isn't a great deal you can do at removing "guests" - that term in the agreement is an unfair one as it impacts on the tenants quiet enjoyment of the property, you would not be able to enforce it IMO.

- What does your AST say about subletting?

Bel
16-02-2007, 23:48 PM
You may be interested in this thread on similar issue http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=4606&highlight=lodger