PDA

View Full Version : Buying a property with tenants

antenna
16-02-2007, 16:44 PM
I'm a student and am looking at housing with a group of friends. One set of parents has kindly agreed to buy a house and rent it to us.

We've fallen in love with a house in the perfect location for us and its the perfect size. We knew that there were tenants (also students) when we viewed the house and knew that their contract ended in June so we were quite happy to wait until then for completion.

However, the landlord wants a quick sale and wants to sell us the house with the tenants still living there. What are their rights with regards to the house? How can we make sure that they clean it to our satisfaction as it was a real mess when we viewed but we assumed that the landlord would ensure it was clean before completion? Do we have to draw up a new contract between us and them?

MrShed
16-02-2007, 16:50 PM
Same rights as they have currently - the contract would be the same, you would just have to serve notice showing change of landlord and new landlords address. Any fixed term would continue on. With regards cleanliness, get the deposit transferred over to you from the current landlord, then you can pay to get it cleaned from that if it is not clean. Ensure you get a copy of the inventory as well!!! If the landlord has no signed inventory, you may be in a tricky situation when it comes to the end of the tenancy.

Realistically, knowing students the way I do(having been one!), you will probably have to take money out of the deposit to get the house cleaned.

Oh and what lovely parents!! :D

antenna
16-02-2007, 17:27 PM
Thanks for the advice. Have been trawling the internet all afternoon but google only wanted to tell me about buying a council house.

Here's hoping that we can get our ideal house and not have too much trouble getting these lads to clean but as you say, realistically, they're not going to don the marigolds and start scrubbing in a hurry.

MrShed