PDA

View Full Version : New to letting property

RichieP
06-06-2005, 13:40 PM
I've spent some time reading some of the threads here, and the advice given. I'm going to be leaving London soon and want to let my flat. I used to be a housing officer so have some knowledge of tenancies, rent arrears, court proceedings etc.
Any advice from you more experienced people?

When asking for references, I will ask for employer, landlord and bank references. What do I ask an employer?

What if a prospective tenant has no previous landlord and is moving out of home?

Thanks in anticipation for any help.

ngadef
06-06-2005, 14:37 PM
I'm a housing manager to

But when it came to letting my house
I mess up & it's still ocsting me

My advice is don't bother
Get an agency to manage it for you

But if you must look at the FAQs on this site
There are all sorts of forms & tings

Particularly forms for tenant references

Paul_f
06-06-2005, 21:35 PM
If you use an agent make sure it's one who is a member of ARLA/NAEA/RICS only. NALS members give some protection but not nearly as much as the other three.

RichieP
08-06-2005, 07:51 AM
I was hoping for something a bit more positive than that. What can agents do that I cant, if someone refuses to pay rent? They still have to follow the same legal procedure.

P.Pilcher
08-06-2005, 08:24 AM
You say you are leaving London thus, it is assumed you will be unable to visit your property in order to manage it or admit potential tenants to view. Thus we expect you will need an agent and Paul F has made a very valid recommendation as to the type of agent to seek.

Much browsing of this board and it's predecessor will indicate the problems that some landlords have with some agents and the sort of questions to ask to ensure that you do not experience similar problems with the agent you select.