PDA

View Full Version : Landlords: do you often have to sue/evict tenants?

DianeB
02-01-2007, 11:55 AM
Just out of interest and being a new landlord already saddled with a bad tenant, are court proceedings and evictions common or have I just been unlucky so early?
Would be interested to hear from experienced landlords how often they have had problem tenants.

Beeber
02-01-2007, 12:21 PM
Generally forums are skewed - they tend to report only the negatives.

The advice given to new landlords is that if they undertake thorough tenant screening, they reduce the risk by 90% through filtering out most of the unreliable ones before they can get a suitcase over the threshold.

What checks did you undertake (employer, credit, previous landlord references, etc) and did you do them yourself or use a service like www.tenantverify.co.uk? How much deposit did you take?

As a novice, I didn't encounter legal problems with my first bunch but I did get lots of time-wasting calls from prospective tenants who seemed either not to be particularly serious about their accommodation search (in perpertual 'browse' mode for the fantasy apartment at fantasy prices) or vague about what they were looking for and their income.

My ads stipulated a furnished property for long-term working tenants and I was inundated with calls from students, those who wanted a short-term lets, and migrant workers who wanted to cram themselves in like sardines and have beds in all the reception rooms to make it cheaper for themselves.

I even had one guy offer me substantially less rent and requesting that I take out the furniture, to boot, thinking that would justify making the rent cheaper for him. Really - he was genuinly baffled why i wouldn't reduce the rent if he bought through his own furniture - it hadn't occured to him that I would face greater expense putting it into storage on top of the large rent reduction he thought would be due.