PDA

View Full Version : Early leaving tenant - who pays utilities?

drfrot
15-12-2011, 17:12 PM
I have a tenant who has vacated the property three weeks in advance of the official end of their 6 month AST and moved elsewhere. They've paid 6 months full rent and everything's been perfectly amicable.

Whose responsibility are the bills between now and the end of the tenancy? I've a feeling they've given meter readings to the utilities companies and told them they've vacated the property (in which case they'll likely get a final bill to their leaving date). Does that mean I take the bills on for the next few weeks, until I get another tenant in?

I wouldn't mind - it's not like they'll be big bills - but I do want to leave the heating coming on every now and again to prevent damp and give a favourable impression when others are viewing it.

Any advice?

Thanks

drfrot
15-12-2011, 17:17 PM
I should add that keys have been returned.

shining light
15-12-2011, 21:44 PM
I'm new to this and still learning the ropes so i'm not speaking from experience, but since there is no contract with the utility companies and assuming the tenant has paid up to date, I would say that you, as the owner of the property, are liable for the utilities until a new tenant takes over. An early termination of the tenancy has nothing to do with the utilities.

If i am wrong, i'm sure somebody will add to this.

mind the gap
15-12-2011, 22:17 PM
Given that the tenant has effectively surrendered the tenancy, the LL is surely liable for the utility bills, especially as it is the LL who wants to have the heating on.

drfrot
16-12-2011, 09:27 AM
Thanks. I hear what you're saying, it's just that all the official documentation I have regards the tenancy states that it runs up to 6th January. It's not mine to re-rent until that point, as far as I know.