PDA

View Full Version : Council tax and students/professionals

wiregig
04-12-2006, 09:24 AM
Good morning!

I am rather new in the 'landlord world' and just have two properties right now.

One of my properties is vacant. I have a bunch of 3 friends in their mid 20s interested in renting and sharing it.
2 of them are professionals, the other one is student + part time worker to get herself pocket money.

What they would like to do is make the student sign the agreement so that they avoid the council tax since the council wont know there are professionals living there.

I am puzzled about what to do... I would be tempted to accept this as the property will therefore be let this week but I am not quite sure about the consequences for me.

Any advice on this matter would be really appreciated!
Thanks

EIMB
04-12-2006, 09:56 AM
As far as I am aware the student exemption only applies if all the occupants of the property are students, even if one isn't then the exemption for the property is null and void.

I would explain this to the group and tell them that you cannot willingly allow a property that you own to defraud the council.

You can also write to the council on their behalf explaining that you are the landlord and these are the new residents to whom the bill will be sent.

I think this a hands on responsible approach to making sure your tenants operate ethically and legally.

EIMB
04-12-2006, 10:00 AM
Saying that you will not allow them to do this shouldn't jeopordise there willingness to sign up and if it did then it is probably a sign that they are willing to cut other corners that will directly affect you in the future!

Also they have to sign the agreement as group not as one individual.

attilathelandlord
04-12-2006, 14:10 PM