PDA

View Full Version : Evicting a Tenant who's not paying rent

Sazrose
10-12-2011, 11:00 AM
Hi all,

Please be patient with me as this is my first post. I have been renting out my house for the last 3 years to a lady at first appeared really nice and pleasant.

This is the first time i have done this as the house before had always been lived in by my gran. The woman concerned is an older lady and said she wanted to stay for a long time. I had no reason not to believe her and allowed her to move in. No written agreement was given and no bond or advance rent was paid. I now know that these things are standard.

When i asked for the lady to pay a bond for any damages there was always an excuse as to why she couldn't pay it. She was paying her rent and the house was always in a good state and i put the fact of her not paying down to my fault for not asking before she moved in.

After the first year the lady lost her job and the council started paying her rent but not the full amount. To start with she made up the difference but then this stopped and she would again always have a excuse of why she can't pay (she does however seem to have the money to pay for cable and her mobile!)

This has been going on now for the last 2 years - she has been giving me dribs and drabs of back rent but never the full amount owed.

Recently now i have been informed by the council that she is being investigated and her rent has been stopped by them. She tells me she knows nothing about this and has had no notice from the council (this i don't believe). She tells me that she has no money to pay any rent at all and to date with all the back rent owes me over £2000. I refuse to be taken for a fool any longer and want her out of my house.

How do i go to evict and how much notice do i need to give and in what form

Thanks in Advance :-)

jta
10-12-2011, 12:23 PM