PDA

View Full Version : Tenant changed mind after signing agreement and taking posession

Shiner
06-12-2011, 14:35 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm a mere novice to the letting business so your advice would be appreciated. I will keep it as brief as possible.

* Lady views property and wishes to rent.
* Tenancy agreement signed and bond and 1st month deposit paid
* Current tenant not moving out until day before new tenant takes over (Big mistake I know!)
* New tenant collects keys and takes posession
* New tenant has concerns with cleanliness
* I visit with new tenant, and whilst I'm sure there have been many worse, I agree to get it recleaned and carpets shampooed. Tenant says thanks for offer but will instead do it herself.
* Tenant calls next day to say no longer wants property can we terminate agreement amicably
* I visit property to see tenant who has not yet moved in, she flips out and starts threatening court action
* After calming, I offer again to re-clean, carpet shampoo and re-paint to try and please, along with 1 weeks rent refund give a bit of time to arrange or I will agree to terminate early for two months notice as it is 3 weeks before Xmas and I would have to pay to re-advertise etc.
* Tenant thanks for offer and says will think about it and call me back.
* I receive a text message the next day saying there is a letter under your door mat! Not sure what was wrong with the postbox!
* Keys returned along with a letter stating if both bond and first months rent are not returned in full then court proceeding will follow in 7 days.

Anyone had anything similar or any pearls of wisdom would be appreciated.

Many Thanks

Shiner

jta
06-12-2011, 14:42 PM
You would almost certainly win any case that followed, she took possession when she took the keys and entered the flat. You have no onus on you to mitigate the debt but it's probably best to try to let it out again. You will need a signed deed of surrender from her before you do.

Snorkerz