PDA

View Full Version : i want to buy my own furniture, landlord refused to take his furniture out

samrussus
01-12-2011, 09:11 AM
Hi, i hope you could help.
i have been renting the property for 4 years. i decided to get my own furniture there so i asked the landlord if he could take his furniture back. he refused to take them due to no storage available.

what are my options? is the landlord obliged to take the furniture or not? i don't want to be harsh in dealing with this as he has been helpful and followed the book in different past occasions.

the cost of hiring storage is £20 / week but don't want to pay £85 / month to store stuff that aren't mine.

thank you, any comment is very much appreciated.

JK0
01-12-2011, 09:34 AM
If landlord's furniture is scruffy, why don't you and landlord go shopping for new furniture together. Then you can chose something you are both happy with. (This is what I did with my tenant.) Furniture Village collected my old furniture for £50 when they brought the new stuff.

jrsteeve
01-12-2011, 09:43 AM
The landlord has no obligation to remove any furnishings. You've rented the property as furnished (I assume), as such you knew what would be in the property and let it as seen. The landlord may agree to remove some smaller items but larger ones are difficult to move and expensive to store, as you've found. You should have discussed the options with the landlord before taking it upon yourself to buy new furniture.

samrussus
01-12-2011, 10:20 AM
thank you guys, it was semi furnished when i started renting. the stuff i'd like to remove are a bed, 2 door closet and 2 small lockers so i am not asking to remove the whole apartement. i'd like to have my own stuff so shopping with landlord is not an option. anyway i just wanted to know legally that if he's obliged to remove them or not, thanks jrsteve you've answered that. another question please, the tenancy agreement is up for renewal soon so can i ask to remove them then?

theartfullodger