PDA

View Full Version : S21

medlock
11-10-2011, 07:48 AM
Hi all
I doing an S21 for a tenant
He moved in on the 1st June 2011
Whats the earliest date the S21 should expire?
Thanks

lynneinjapan
11-10-2011, 09:55 AM
OK, I'm a relative novice but I think I have a pretty good understanding of this area (and if I get it wrong then I'm sure someone will correct me), so here goes:

Firstly, a S21 doesn't expire unless you get the tenant to start a new tenancy agreement after the initial AST. If you just let the tenancy carry on and become a statutory periodic tenancy then the S21 remains valid and can be enforced whenever you like (with appropriate notice). I've been advised that you should always serve a S21 2-3 months before the end of an AST, just to cover your own back, even if you don't actually want the tenant to leave. (I haven't followed this advice myself yet, largely because I want my tenants, who are lovely, to stay for as long as possible, and I'm a little anxious that they might be offended by the serving of a S21.)

Anyway, assuming that it's a 6-month AST and that the rent is due on the 1st of the month, the original term would end on 30th Nov/1st Dec (depending on whether the tenancy started at midnight or noon on the 1st). However, you have to serve the S21 at least two months prior to that date so you've missed the deadline and hence cannot end the tenancy until the next rent payment falls due, i.e. 31st Dec/1st Jan. In order to do that, you need to make sure that the notice is served by 31st Oct at the latest.

MrJohnnyB
11-10-2011, 10:43 AM
OK, I'm a relative novice but I think I have a pretty good understanding of this area (and if I get it wrong then I'm sure someone will correct me), so here goes: