PDA

View Full Version : Problem with tenants

Ranger77
09-10-2011, 14:34 PM
I am letting my house to a family (husband, wife, plus 18
year-old daughter) on an assured shorthold
tenancy. I am not a professional, full-time landlord. I
am letting the house purely due to personal circumstances.

The house does not have central heating installed and so as part of the deal, I agreed to install a replacement gas
boiler within the initial, one month rent-free period and
this obligation of mine was written into the tenancy
agreement.

We are now at the end of the rent-free period. The boiler has not yet been installed, however I have had several
contractors survey the property and provide quotes. I
apologised to the tenants for the delay with installation, and also kept them informed of progress with contractors'
visits and obtaining quotes.

Today, one of the tenants (the wife) turned-up at my own
house complaining about the fact the work has not yet been done and saying the house is “cold”. I repeated my
apology, pointed out how I had kept them informed,
including that I had spoken repeatedly to the other tenant (the husband) who seemed unconcerned in our phone
discussions. I reiterated that the installation would be
completed as soon as possible.

This lady is quite trying - frankly, a pain in the rear
end - whereas the husband is very reasonable. I have to
say that I had not returned a phone message from her
yesterday nor did I want to speak with her on the phone
today. I have already told them what is going on and there is nothing further to be discussed, as the installation
work needs to be done properly, safely and economically,
and I therefore must take time and care over selecting a
contractor.

She was with her daughter when she arrived, and I
eventually lost my rag a bit as I took the view it was a
pointless conversation and it felt like harassment. Her