PDA

View Full Version : How can I contact my tenant?

Jacala73
10-06-2011, 19:39 PM
Hi,

I'm still a newbie landlord and use an LA on a fully managed service but we have lost all contact with the tenant.

She is on a 6 month AST finishing on 21st June, the LA contacted both of us in writing to ask if we wanted to renew the contract. I said yes as there had been no bother (and the tenant paid 6 months up front initially) but the tenant didn't respond. Eventually just before when she would need to give her one months notice, she texted the LA and said 'please call me to discuss the lease'.

LA has tried on numerous occasions and texted her but the mobile seems to be out of service. Eventually the LA contacted the tenants next of kin and again no reply.

The LA is doing a routine check on Monday and wrote to the tenant infoming her of this, again no reply. The LA is going anyway.

Can I go round and knock on the door? I'm fine with going onto a monthly basis but I'm not fine with not being able to contact her and her not responding.

Any ideas?

Thanks

mind the gap
10-06-2011, 19:46 PM
It would not be inappropriate to call and request a discussion about whether the tenancy will continue or not, or to request payment of rent when it falls due. However the T is under no obligation to respond.

She may even be ill, in hospital or in the throes of some other crisis.

If you cannot get any response in the end, and she fails to pay the rent, you will probably have to serve a section 8 when she owes 2 months' rent, and apply for a court order for possession.

westminster
11-06-2011, 10:48 AM
Hi,

I'm still a newbie landlord and use an LA on a fully managed service but we have lost all contact with the tenant.