PDA

View Full Version : New-build bought by new landlord: do I need agent?

directuk
30-09-2006, 11:35 AM
Hello, I have recently had an offer accepted on a NEW 2 bed duplex apartment in LEICS, Freemans meadow which I plan to let for a couple of years before moving in myself. I am new to buying houses and the world of renting so wanted to ask some advice.

1. I am a student, and wondered if because being a student I do not have to pay council tax, whether I could integrate this into part of my letting package. In other words offer free council tax with the letting of the property? I know generally the tenant pays the council tax but could I take responsibilty for this even though I wouldnt be living there?

2. As a tenant I am aware I am responsible for any letting agent costs, mortgage repayments, maintenance and ground rent and contents insurance, Are there any other general expenses I should be aware of?

3. I am inclined to use a letting agent to find my tenants to save the hassle myself and so that I can get someone in asap and feel a letting agent would be more capable of finding a tenant quicker, Is this advisable?

The main reason for buying this property is for a long term investment, and based on capital gains and redevelopment of the town I feel it stands to be quite a profitable investment, Also I can benefit from living there in 2 years when I finally graduate from university.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Regards
Ben:D

Ericthelobster
30-09-2006, 12:18 PM
I am a student, and wondered if because being a student I do not have to pay council tax, whether I could integrate this into part of my letting package. In other words offer free council tax with the letting of the property? I know generally the tenant pays the council tax but could I take responsibilty for this even though I wouldnt be living there?Definitely not!