PDA

View Full Version : New To Renting - Guarantors

Emma
27-09-2006, 11:49 AM
Hi
I'm new to this.. so apologies if my terminology is a bit rubbish. Anyway I am renting out my flat, it's been advertised for a few months... and thought I had a tenant.. they are DSS which isn't a problem and I was expecting them to move in on Friday. The agent has called today saying that her guarantor doesn't fit the criteria for being a guarantor as he doesn't earn 3 times the annual rent. What does this mean for me legally, bearing in mind that the money will be coming directly from the council. Am I taking a risk by saying yes?
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks very much
Emma

settloe_99
27-09-2006, 12:26 PM
Are you using HomeLet or some other form of rent guarantee scheme?

The reason I ask is because these companies usually insist that for someone to meet their criteria as a g/tour they must earn at least 3 times the annual rent. This is because if the tenant defaults on payment of the rent then the rent gaurantee scheme want to know that the g/tour earns enough to honour their obligations as g/tour.

Personnaly I don't enquire how much a g/tour earns, I do a credit check on them and also a Land Regsitry check to confirm they are home owners.

cmack
27-09-2006, 12:29 PM
yes a BIG risk. HB sounds and is a very good way of taking a long term tennant on. theoretically hb is paid month in month out but what if your tennant breaks the terms of the hb criteria and has the hb removed? hb tennants are nothing like paying from their own means tennants. theres little to no chance of you getting the payment from them so you absolutely need a next point of call for rent.
no court ( should it get that far) will enforce payment on a guarntr who you knew would be unable to pay you.