PDA

View Full Version : Tenancy conditions

Neuville
26-09-2006, 14:38 PM
Hi,

I am dealing with a landlord who has put some conditions into his tenancy agreement that I am not sure are legit or not. Unfortunately I am no expert on these things so I thought I would ask someone who was.

It is a Assured Short Tenancy that runs for 3 years until July 2009. It has a condition that says if the tenant moves out of the property without the consent of the landlord in writing then the landlord is entitled to immediately resume possession of the property. There is no intention to do this but can the landlord really just take over the flat straight away and stick someone else in?

It also says that any Housing Benefit must be paid direct to the landlord and if it isn't then "the tenant will be effectively terminating this lease and and the landlord will be entitled to immediately resume possession of the subject of let." Again can a landlord just turf someone out like that?

It says the "landlord is not liable for the replacement of broken windows, sink, washbasins, baths or lavatory basins" and that the tenant is responsible for replacing them whether the damage was caused by him or not. Is that right?

The last thing is about giving notice. It says that the tenant must give 4 weeks notice in writing by recorded delivery before leaving, which is fair enough I suppose. If I gave notice another way (by hand delivering a letter to his office or faxing it) would that work? Or is it a case of "it's not by recorded delivery, it doesn't count"?

Ta

Ericthelobster
26-09-2006, 14:49 PM