PDA

View Full Version : Rent Arrears

mary44
26-09-2006, 13:40 PM
Please can anyone help. I have had a tenent in a 3 bdr house with 2 children and a partner. This tenent has now been in arrears with her rent mth after mth since she moved in at end of May. The Ho Exc pay some money towards the rent but she is to pay the top up which amount to £19 per week which I havent received from her after endless phone calls and visits. She now is saying she is moving out Oct 20th so what can I do. I am new to this and dont know what to do for the best as I have tried with her. Also she is saying the house is damp and she would need to claim of me for damage to a pushchair but I had the house has been damp proofed before I bought it as I need a certitificate before I got Mortgage and it was fine. Please help. Mary

islandgirl
26-09-2006, 15:22 PM
Be happy to get rid of her I would say! Seriously don't believe the "I am going on such a date" bit. Issue a section 8 if she is over 2 months in arrears. Obviously if you have HB paid direct to you this won't be the case. If you dont have it paid directly to you, you are legally entitled to do so - tell the council about the arrears.
I have had a tenant say he was going to go on a certain day and then "change his mind" and wasted valuable time in issuing a secion 8.
Is it a 6 month tenancy or 12?
Dont worry about the accusation of damp - my tenant accused us of everythig from poor sewage to fly infestations, all bogus!
We had to "write off" arrears of over £2000 - just be glad if she does go in October...

johnjw
26-09-2006, 15:33 PM
Mary,
First of all be glad that she is moving out; your tenant and her family sound like trouble. Presumably this is at the end of a 6 month AST.