PDA

View Full Version : Help with my rights as a tenant

missb
26-08-2006, 11:47 AM
Hi All,

I'm new to LLZ and been reading some of the past posts which appear to refute what my letting agent has advised.

We have until just recently had a very good relationship with our LL, we have been here 18m. Our tenancy date was set up for the 18th, 2 months ago due to personal finances I rang the agent and asked to change this date. I paid the prorata amount and the rent date altered to 25th.

I believed this meant if I wanted to give notice that this date was the date I needed to do it by. I am told that this is the new payment date only, the date I need to advise my intent to leave is still the 18th, is this correct? We just gave notice to leave and of course were told as we missed the 18th we are now stuck here until 17th November. Financially this is not great as we have a house we are selling we don't live in that just had a sale fall though on after 4 months + we are buying another house. Potentially I will be responsible for 3 properties.

The house we are renting is also for sale which I have no problem with as we are doing our thing but whilst there has only been a few viewings between the LL and the selling agent (diff to the letting agent) they can not get anything right, dates and times messed up, communication gone mad.

I have been really reasonable and actually very helpful assisting agents viewng and even doing the viewings but no more. I want to know my rights. I believe I do not need to let anyone in to view the house for sale unless I am in the last 8 weeks of the tenancy which I am not? I thought I had the right to change locks, the letting agent says I need the LL permission as that's what's in the AST? The letting agent who has been very nice tells me they can send a 24hr access letter but I read on this site they still need my permission??