PDA

View Full Version : T owes £3000 rent; has L any hope of recouping all/any?

Tabskitten
29-07-2010, 17:39 PM
huge mess!
basic is I am a novice LL and had a DSS tenant who is 3K in arrears and a letting agent who let it get this bad! I am trying to sort all this mess out, have issued sec 21 to get her out but am wondering if i have a hope in hell of getting anything back for her arrears?

She has no job, claims no money and as I am in manchester and the flat in bristol i have no idea what assets are in it. I am tempted to try find a dept collection agency to try and get something/ anything back as I think it is disgusting that she be allowed to get off Scot free! The CAB were no help, she has put us in massive financial difficulty so i cannot afford court fees or solicitor fees and do not want to throw any more money at the situation anyway only to find that as she has no assets we end up with zilch for the effort!

Or bailiffs? Can we send in our own? The LA said she has a xbox and plasma tv probably paid for by the DSS payments inshould have got!?

Btw, yes the council did start paying me direct after 2 k arrears but they then. Suspended payments whilst investigating her partner who had unbeknown to us moved in with her hence increasing arrears?

Many thanks any help!
Tabs

jeffrey
29-07-2010, 17:59 PM
1. Ignore that T is claiming benefit.
2. Keep calm.
3. Instead, focus on:
a. what T should pay; and
b. what T actually pays.
4. You have served T with Notice under s.21.
5. Now serve T with Notice under is.8 (on grounds 8/10/11, I assume). After the 14-day Notice period, begin proceedings.
6. Consider terminating Agency Agreement too- why pay someone to screw up on your behalf?

Tabskitten
29-07-2010, 18:08 PM
1. Ignore that T is claiming benefit.
2. Keep calm.
3. Instead, focus on:
a. what T should pay; and
b. what T actually pays.
4. You have served T with Notice under s.21.