PDA

View Full Version : 2mths rent owing & no deposit protection

Greenleaf
25-07-2010, 17:37 PM
Hi, I’m a student at Uni. I’ll try to be as brief as I can. I moved into private rental accommodation as an AST with 11 other students in Sept 09.
We all had separate contracts, different size rooms and different rents.
Some had their deposits protected, some didn’t including me.

There have been many issues with the LL e.g. entering the house without proper notice; actually entering my room while I was asleep; contracted cleaners stopped coming in March; day of fire safety inspection there were 5 men in the house putting up fire safety equipment (this was long after we all moved in). These are just a few examples.

My question is, as I owe 2 month’s rent, is the LL allowed to keep the deposit? I have tried to get the LA to accept this but they said they are ‘not allowed’ according to the TDS. But my deposit hasn’t been protected!
What do people think? Thank you.

Springfields
25-07-2010, 18:21 PM
Hi, I’m a student at Uni. I’ll try to be as brief as I can. I moved into private rental accommodation as an AST with 11 other students in Sept 09.
We all had separate contracts, different size rooms and different rents.
Some had their deposits protected, some didn’t including me.

There have been many issues with the LL e.g. entering the house without proper notice; actually entering my room while I was asleep; contracted cleaners stopped coming in March; day of fire safety inspection there were 5 men in the house putting up fire safety equipment (this was long after we all moved in). These are just a few examples.

how and when did you receive notice prior to entry

My question is, as I owe 2 month’s rent, is the LL allowed to keep the deposit? I have tried to get the LA to accept this but they said they are ‘not allowed’ according to the TDS. But my deposit hasn’t been protected!
What do people think? Thank you.