PDA

View Full Version : LL wants full month's rent in for last 15 days

bym007
24-07-2010, 00:58 AM
Hi all,

Newbie here so be a little kind please.

I recently completed the minimum term of my AST 12 months, and now on a rolling month to month contract.

I wish to cancel my contract, so I gave a notice to my LL today for 30 days.

Basically, our month runs from 8th of every calendar month, however, I gave a 30 days notice today, so my tenancy will now come to an end on 22-08-10. There is no clause in the tenancy agreement to object to this.

So for next month, I owe him rent from 08-08-10 till 22-08-10. However, my LL replied back to say that he wants full month's rent on 08-08-10 and will refund the remaining rent plus my deposit (subject to flat being all good) at the end of tenancy.

I however, do not believe this is right, and I should not have to pay him anymore rent than it is due. Is he correct in demanding full month's rent ?

Snorkerz
24-07-2010, 09:16 AM
Your notice (under section 5 of the 1988 Housing Act) needed to give a minimum of one month, and end on the last day of a tenancy period. Your tenancy period runs to the 7th, therefore that is when your notice runs to.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

bym007
24-07-2010, 10:20 AM
Sorry, but my tenancy agreement does not state that it must "end on the last day of a tenancy period", and hence the LL has agreed to let me go in the middle of a tenancy month.

My only issue is why does he want a full month's rent when I will be staying for 15 days ? He says that he will return the remainder of the rent (pro rata) and deposit. when he move out.

I would rather save that extra money to be used for new flat's rent. Hence the query...

silverbak
24-07-2010, 10:33 AM
Sorry, but my tenancy agreement does not state that it must "end on the last day of a tenancy period", and hence the LL has agreed to let me go in the middle of a tenancy month.