PDA

View Full Version : Not received notice

findme
14-04-2010, 14:46 PM
Hi,

I've been renting for over 4 years now and am pretty up to date with what I need to do to end my tenancy term.

However.....

On my current tenancy I signed up for 6 months and after which no new agreement was signed. I did however before my last payment for rent give the 4 weeks notice required any way. I have rung up the letting agent with whome i've had most contact with acuse I don't have any for the landlord and they state now (1 and a half weeks before my aticipated move date) that they have not receieved my notice.

I am expecting to move very soon and have paid deposits for a new place already i cannot afford to pay rent for another month and rent on my new place.

Do I have a leg to stand on?

mind the gap
14-04-2010, 14:50 PM
Hi,

I've been renting for over 4 years now and am pretty up to date with what I need to do to end my tenancy term.

However.....

On my current tenancy I signed up for 6 months and after which no new agreement was signed. I did however before my last payment for rent give the 4 weeks notice required any way. I have rung up the letting agent with whome i've had most contact with acuse I don't have any for the landlord and they state now (1 and a half weeks before my aticipated move date) that they have not receieved my notice.

I am expecting to move very soon and have paid deposits for a new place already i cannot afford to pay rent for another month and rent on my new place.

Your post is a little confusing - if your current AST is a 6 month fixed term, and if you have paid the rent up to the end of the 6 month fixed term , you cannot be made to pay any more if you move out by the last day of that fixed term. You are not even required to give any notice at all, although it is courteous to do so.

The only way that you would be liable for another month's rent is if you failed to moved out and the tenancy thus became 'periodic'.