PDA

View Full Version : help needed with flats ive just viewed..

Shelly24
31-03-2010, 10:15 AM
hi all,

i need a bit of advice. ive just viewed 2 flats and i can see myself being taken for a bit of a mug so need someone with a bit of savvy to steer me in the right direction!

these 2 flats are in a high rise block right on the seafront. the block itself was built in the 70s and from the outside is pretty nasty, the inside isnt much better and looks a bit like a hospital with cracked rendering etc. it has been updated, has fire doors and sprinklers and 2 high speed lifts installed.
there is allocated parking.

one flat is on 4th floor and has nice views. it has new carpet and lino and the bathroom is ok. The kitchen is tiny in a cubby hole in the hallway and is quite out of date and has no applicances. the heating is night storage however im told the landlady is putting in economy 7.
i have no knowledge of economy 7 or night storage. can anyone help me? im told they are both awful?
the windows on this flat cover the whole front of the living room and bedroom and slide right back (health and safety?!?) but im sure its great for the summer.

the 12th floor flat has even better views but really is stuck in the grotty 70's. the kitchen is like 1 free standing unit which is blue and the oven doesnt even work, then lino is disgusting and is peeling up. the bathroom is salvagable although im sure the boiler is not great. the heating is non existant although there is a huge heather thing in the front room, not sure if its economy 7 but thats the only 1. it has built in wardrobes in the bedroom and an old bed and sofa.

now the usual price for a 1 bed in my area is £325.
Im currently paying £285 for a nice studio but the location is horrible. this location is desirable but both flats are not perfect.