PDA

View Full Version : Protecting the deposit

eulets
31-03-2010, 08:24 AM
Can someone please give me some advice?
I have a property which I have been letting to tennants for 18 months now. They have been late with rent every month so I gave them 2 months notice under the section 21 which expires tomorrow - at the same time as the existing tenancy runs out. The council have advised them to stay put and told me to take them to court. Originally, a letting agency took the deposit and drew up the tenancy agreement as I had to go into hospital for 2 weeks when the tenancy started. The letting agency then put the deposit into my bank account which I assumed was a months rent. I didnt find out util this week that the deposit was not protected. I am now really worried that I will get fined for not protecting the deposit even though I genuinely didnt know this was the case. What is my best way to proceed? Can I protect it now as I have only just found out? I also assume that I cannot go to court to get the eviction order till I protect the deposit? One final question please, there is a rent guarantor, can they be held liable for court costs if I eventually go to court for the eviction order?

Snorkerz
31-03-2010, 08:49 AM
Hi, you can protect the deposit today at www.depositprotection.com - this will prevent any claims against you.

However the s21 you have served is invalid and so you will need to issue a replacement as soon as the deposit is protected AND the prescribed information given to the tenants.

Obviously you need to do this all today if the fixed term expires tommorrow - make sure the date seeking possession is shown as "AFTER 1st June 2010" (presuming the current tenancy agreement started on the 2nd of the month).

With regard to the guarantor:

Does the AST make the tenant liable for the costs?
If so, goes the deed of guarantee make the guarantor responsible for all the tenants liabilities, or only the rent?

eulets
31-03-2010, 08:55 AM