PDA

View Full Version : Claiming for 3x my deposit

LucindaB
30-03-2010, 15:20 PM
I signed a assured shorthold tenancy agreement and paid my deposit in feb 2009. My agency did not mention a deposit scheme nor did I receive a certificate.

7 months later I received a letter informing me that my deposit was being removed from the DPS. 4 months after that I received an email stating that the landlord had registered with 'my deposits' but had not received my deposit.

I filled out an N1 court form claiming 3 times my deposit as I believed it was not protected. Since sending this form I have received confirmation that my deposit is now protected.

My agency received a court summons today and called me, he was very angry with me. He said that I will have to pay his solicitors fees if I lose. Is this true? (I am a student and therefore I do not have to pay the court fees).

Also do you think I have a good case for getting 3x the deposit back? Or will the courts not issue the fine as my deposit is now protected? And therefore, should I perhaps cancel my claim?

Many thanks.

mjbfire
30-03-2010, 15:55 PM
Did you take legal advise before going to court?

My view is that you very unlikely to get anything, as the deposit has now been protected, see other posts.

The other stange thing I don't think the DPS would release your deposit without your agreement. So maybe it was never protected with the DPS??? if so very bad LA and/or LL.

Did you talk to your LL or LA about the deposit not being protected before you starting court action. If you didn't, as a LL, I wouldn't be very happy, and if I was you, I would look out for a S21(Eviction Notice) coming your way very soon. So i would either start mending bridges with LL/LA or find somewhere else to live.

LucindaB
30-03-2010, 16:08 PM
So it doesn't matter that at some point my deposit was not protected?