PDA

View Full Version : New to being a Landlord

daveyboy321
29-03-2010, 05:34 AM
Hi All
I am new to the Landlord world and will be asking lots of questions in the near future so please be gentle with me.
I am in the process of purchasing a property in the Essex area and the vendors have intimated their wish to stay and rent the property after the completion of sale. What are your thoughts and suggestions of the legalities.
Dave

Ericthelobster
29-03-2010, 07:01 AM
I am in the process of purchasing a property in the Essex area and the vendors have intimated their wish to stay and rent the property after the completion of sale. What are your thoughts and suggestions of the legalities.It can be done - it's been discussed here before; but personally I think that as a first-time landlord I think you'll have enough on your plate without having to worry about the extra complexities of having an home-owner -> tenant conversion to contend with.

But I'm guessing the situation is not exactly as you've described it - ie, that you've decided to buy a property to let, and the owners have suddenly decided they'd like to stay as tenants? I assume this is a case where the owners can't make the mortgage payments and are selling up to you at a favourable price, specifically with a view to staying in the property - a bit different?

ram
29-03-2010, 10:47 AM
vendors have intimated their wish to stay and rent the property after the sale.

Gut reaction = don't do it.

They are in financial difficulties if they need to sell their house and then rent the same house.
You wont know how much they owe for loans, remortgage, credit cards, cars etc.
It has happened lately, that people owe more than the final figure they will get for the sale of their house.